JN/Chapter 3: Secretly popular Sakuraba-kun

Chapter 3: Secretly popular Sakuraba-kun

“Hey, Aoki.”  Kazuma said as he poked me in the cheek.

I glanced up from the book I’m reading, and saw my friend Kazuma.

“What.” I responded.

“I’ve never known anyone more wasteful than you.” he joked.

“Is it about that again?” I said in an annoying way.

I shrugged my shoulders involuntarily to the words of Kazuma that I got tired of listening to.

“Oh god! You really don’t think it’s a waste, do you?” Kazuma blatantly pointed out.

“Kazuma, we are in the library right now.” I whispered.

I put my index finger on his mouth and sent a gesture of hush.

Not only did I not want to be prevented from reading my own book, but I also didn’t want the people around me to be disturbed.

And the most important thing is I don’t want to talk about this anymore.

But Kazuma continued without heeding my request, and went on in a whisper.

“You’re popular, but you don’t have a girlfriend. Damn it, I hate you.” Kazuma stated.

For a moment, I was startled.

But there was no way I would panic here.

“No, I’m not popular.” I retorted.

“Yes, You are!” shouted Kazuma.

“Be quiet.” I was trying to say to Kazuma, since he was being too loud.

It soon gets intense.

It was one of the few flaws of Kazuma, who is basically a nice guy.

“Don’t you know what I mean? Being popular is someone like Yuginagi, I’m just a plain ordinary guy.” I explained, proving my point to him.

“Of course, compared to Yuginagi, you’re pretty cute, though.” Kazuma said.

Kazuma’s expression loosened as he said it.

Kazuma is one of the numerous Yuginagi fans in the school.

“However, Aoki you are more popular than ordinary guys. But you don’t even realize that and you say you don’t need a girlfriend. You’re a devil!” Kazuma said as he decided to keep arguing with me.

“The fact that I don’t want a girlfriend is up to me, and it is so foolish to say that I am popular. And when you do understand them, that’s the end of the story.” I tried to point out.

“No, I don’t! So let’s make it clear today.” Kazuma stated.

“Be quiet. You’re getting annoying now.” I said for the second time as Kazuma’s tone gets more louder.

To put it short, Kazuma finally moved from the seat across to the one next to me.

Apparently, he’s determined to not quit.

This kind of topic has been played out many times since Kazuma and I became friends a little while ago.

Kazuma, who wants to believe that I am popular by all means, and me, who just tells the truth.

It’s a lame argument indeed.

However, speaking of the current situation, I’m supposed to have a girlfriend.

Of course, Kazuma has no way of knowing this.

For some reason, I felt a little uncomfortable, as if I was lying.

“In addition, the fact that you aren’t affected is why you’re so vicious, and because the competition rate does not seem to be as high as Yuginagi, that I think everyone can go and confess. Poor thing, huh?” Kazuma continued voicing his opinions.

“It’s not my fault that I feel that way. Even if I were popular, there would be no reason to hold a grudge, no need to change it.” I replied.

“No, no, no, no. Get her. That way, it all falls into a circle. I wouldn’t complain about that either.”  Kazuma explained.

“I’ll be the one to complain, then.” 

“Come on, man. I’m sure it will be fun. Try hooking up with someone instead of hating it.” Kazuma said as he kept on attempting to liven up my love life.

She tried to go out with me, but I pushed her away.

But, it’s not good after all and no use.

I’m not cut out for this kind of thing in the first place.

Besides, love…

…No, no, no.

It is not necessary to think about it now.

“I’ve always said that my time is important. I don’t even have enough time to read novels or watch movies. And I’m sure it’s boring going out with me.” I clarified.

“…. Well, that might be the case.” Kazuma said.

“Hey.” I glared at him.

“Then at least stop being nice to every girl you see without regards to anyone else.” 

“I’m not being nice. If someone is in trouble and I can help them, I will help them. It’s a given. If it’s a guy, that’s not going to change.”

In my words, Kazuma rolled his eyes..

It’s hard to tell whether he’s surprised or withdrawn.

Well, it doesn’t matter either way.

“…the reason I can’t stop being your friend is because of that kind of thing after all, isn’t it?” Kazuma admitted.

“Seriously, don’t say that, it’s disgusting.” I replied.

“Okay, that’s enough.I’m going home today. But someday I’ll definitely change your mind.” Kazuma got up from his chair.

What’s that, change?

Am I such a bad guy?

Kazuma waved to me briefly and quickly left the library.

He is a self-paced guy..

After reading for about an hour, I decided to go home.

To borrow the book I was reading, I got to the counter where the girl in charge of the library is.

“Naruse-san, I’d like to borrow it.” I said to Naruse, the one in charge.

“Ah, Sakuraba-kun. Wait a minute.” Naruse took the book from me.

Naruse-san, who is in the same grade as me, handles the borrowing process very quickly..

Naruse-san and I have a similar taste in books, and we talk a bit.

Due to the frequent requests for borrowing books, we had become close before I knew it.

She is a kind-hearted person who always says hello to me, even when I see her outside of the library.

“Thank you. See you later.” I bid farewell to Naruse.

“Sakuraba-kun….” Naruse called out but I didn’t hear it.

As soon as I left the library, Naruse followed me into the corridor.

“What’s wrong? Did I forget anything?” I asked.

“Well, no, not at all …” Naruse answered.

Naruse’s face fell slightly and she seemed to say something.

I have no idea what it is, so I’ll just be silent and wait for the next word.

“I have plans to go to a bookstore…..Do you want to accompany me?” Naruse hesitatingly said.

“Huh?” I reacted.

“Ah! Well, I mean…! Because Sakuraba-kun and I have the same favorite books…So i think it will be fun! Well, If it’s okay with you, but….” Naruse said. 

“… Yeah, Okay. Let’s go together.” I accepted her invitation. 

“Oh, really! Well, I’ll get in touch with you again!” Naruse said.

“Yeah. I’ll be waiting for it.” 

When I said this, Naruse-san nodded her head several times and then went back to the library.

I also turned around and headed for the elevator.

Going to a bookstore with Naruse-san….

The book Committee seems to be busy, so I hope she can work out a good schedule.

End of chapter

Leave a comment